Carolina Accident Lawyers

Preventing Accidents for Older Drivers

Preventing Accidents for Older Drivers

Preventing Accidents for Older Drivers

 Fort Mill, SC Personal Injury Attorney

South Carolina has been experiencing a slight decline in the percentage of older-driver-involved highway accident fatalities. These drivers are 65 years old and above. According to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety in its 2016 Highway Safety Plan, there were 132 older-driver-involved deaths in South Carolina in 2009, decreasing to 115 fatalities in 2010, before increasing by 7 to 122 in 2011, and increasing to 133 in 2012. Over that four-year period, the number of fatalities in this category of drivers decreased by 1.20% compared to the prior four-year average. However, throughout the 2009-2013 period, those ages 45-54 constituted the plurality of pedestrian fatalities at 23%, followed by those ages 55-64 at 15%. Older persons aged 65 and above constitute 13.2% of the pedestrian fatalities in South Carolina.

If you were involved in a motor vehicle accident anywhere in North or South Carolina and suffered injuries, you may be entitled to compensation. You should seek the help of an experienced personal injury attorney such as Justin Bice of the law firm of Bice Law, LLC.

Older Drivers and Accident Risks

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there were 5,560 people 65 and older killed and 214,000 injured in motor vehicle accidents nationwide in 2012.  Although many older drivers may continue to drive safely for years, aging can bring about diminished eyesight and reflexes that may take a dangerous toll on a person’s ability to operate a vehicle. The negative effects of deteriorating vision begin at around 40 years old and affect almost everyone at age 51. Accident crash data from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety shows that older drivers are involved in more accidents per mile traveled than any other age group except younger drivers (30 years of age and under). Drivers who are 70 to 74 years of age are almost twice as likely to be in a fatal car accident per mile traveled than drivers who are between 35 and 69 years old.

As a precautionary measure, many states require elderly drivers to renew their licenses in person. Twenty-eight states and the District of Columbia have additional requirements for older drivers, starting as early as age 65. These requirements include more frequent renewals and vision and road testing. Under South Carolina statutes, a driver’s license holder who is at least 65 years old must renew their license in-person every five years. A vision test is required during an in-person license renewal. DMV personnel have the discretion to require both a written and a road test.

The DMV can place restrictions or conditions on a person’s license after administering a test and discussing those restrictions with him or her. The most common of these restrictions is the requirement of glasses or corrective contact lenses. Other common conditions South Carolina DMV may impose on older drivers include a prohibition on freeway or nighttime driving, or restrictions from driving during rush hour.

If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident accident anywhere in North or South Carolina involving those who are older drivers, Justin Bice of Bice Law, LLC can provide you with the expertise and effective advocacy you need to pursue your case and obtain compensation for your injuries. Justin has extensive experience in pursuing personal injury claims effectively on behalf of his clients. Older drivers may be held liable in automobile accidents if they fail to adhere to restrictions or conditions on their driver’s licenses, resulting in a crash. Contact us today for a free initial consultation by calling our toll-free number at (855) 500-BICE or by submitting our online form.

Contact the Personal Injury Law Firm of Bice Law

The personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payments for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and any permanent disability.  We’ll determine whether an out-of-court settlement or trial is the best strategy to obtain maximum benefits for you or your family. If you have suffered injury or harm because of someone else’s actions, take the first step to protect your legal rights – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law serving both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, so act quickly.  Call (855) 500-BICE today or submit an online request  to get a free consultation with a  personal injury attorney. We serve families across both North Carolina and South Carolina.

Share this article on Social Media!

Slight Decrease Reported in South Carolina Speed-Related Fatalities

Slight Decrease Reported in South Carolina Speed-Related Fatalities

Fort Mill, SC Personal Injury Attorney

According to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety in its 2016 Highway Safety Plan, South Carolina’s speeding-related population-based fatality rate was 6.5 fatalities per 100,000 during 2009-2013. In 2013, 39.9% of the state’s traffic fatalities were speed-related. A speeding-related fatality is defined as one that occurs in a crash in which a driver is charged with a speeding-related offense, or in which an officer indicates that racing, driving too fast for conditions, or exceeding the posted speed limit was a contributing factor. For the 2009-2013 period, the report indicated that the counties with the highest percentages of speeding-related deaths in South Carolina were Greenville (103 deaths), Horry (91 deaths), Richland (88 deaths), Charleston (78 deaths), Spartanburg (75 deaths), Lexington (71 deaths), and Anderson (69 deaths).

If you were in a speed-related accident anywhere in North or South Carolina and suffered injuries, you may be entitled to compensation. You should seek the help of an experienced personal injury attorney such as Justin Bice of the law firm of Bice Law, LLC.

Risks of Speed-related Crashes

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) indicates that in 2013, 9.613 fatalities in the U.S. resulted from speed-related automobile accidents. In a survey of speeding attitudes and behaviors, NHTSA found that four out of five drivers believed that driving at or near the speed limit makes it easier to avoid dangerous situations and reduces the chances of an accident. However, more than a quarter of individuals surveyed also admitted speeding without thinking about it and that they often try to get to where they are going as quickly as possible. 15% of those surveyed believed that driving over the speed limit was not dangerous if an experienced driver was involved.

To obtain compensation for injuries incurred because of an automobile accident in South Carolina, plaintiffs in a personal injury lawsuit have to be able to prove that the offending driver was negligent. Negligence is a legal term that means someone owed a duty of reasonable care to other people that he or she failed to satisfy, which resulted in injuries. With respect to a speed-related accident, proving a duty of care should is easier because all drivers have a duty to obey all traffic laws. If a driver failed to obey posted speed limits, then they breached their duty to other drivers to obey that particular traffic law. If a plaintiff can provide evidence such as a traffic citation for speeding, then it may be enough to satisfy both requirements of showing a duty of care and showing that this duty was breached. If a plaintiff can prove that a driver was driving at a reckless speed under the circumstances, he or she may still be held liable. This other evidence may come from different sources, including the type of vehicle damage sustained.

If you have been injured in a speed-related automobile accident anywhere in North or South Carolina, Justin Bice of Bice Law, LLC can provide you with the expertise and effective advocacy you need to pursue your case and obtain compensation for your injuries. Justin has extensive experience in pursuing personal injury claims effectively on behalf of his clients. Contact us today for a free initial consultation by calling our toll-free number at (855) 500-BICE or by submitting our online form.

Contact the Personal Injury Law Firm of Bice Law

The personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payments for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and any permanent disability.  We’ll determine whether an out-of-court settlement or trial is the best strategy to obtain maximum benefits for you or your family. If you have suffered injury or harm because of someone else’s actions, take the first step to protect your legal rights – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law serving both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, so act quickly.  Call (855) 500-BICE today or submit an online request  to get a free consultation with a  personal injury attorney. We serve families across both North Carolina and South Carolina.

 

 

Share this article on Social Media!

Uninsured Employers Fined Extensively in 2015 in North Carolina

Share

Uninsured Employers Fined Extensively in 2015 in North Carolina

Charlotte, NC Attorney

According to an article by the Raleigh News and Observer, the North Carolina Industrial Commission, which has the responsibility to enforce the state’s workers’ compensation laws, targeted employers who failed to carry proper workers’ compensation insurance. According to the article, the agency collected nearly $1 million in civil fines from uninsured companies and charged 100 employers with misdemeanors for willingly going without coverage. If you were injured at work and are seeking to file a workers’ compensation claim in North or South Carolina, should seek the help of an experienced personal injury attorney such as Justin Bice of the law firm of Bice Law, LLC.

In North Carolina, any employer with three or more employees must provide workers’ compensation insurance at no cost to the workers. This applies to both full and part-time workers. Those employers who do not carry required insurance can be fined up to $100 a day for each day without coverage, and an additional fine equal to the injured workers’ medical bills and disability payments may also be assessed.

Increased Fraud Detection Capacity

According to the article, the Industrial Commission’s fraud detection has been made possible by software that combines data from several state agencies. For years, the Industrial Commission had apparently worked in a silo and was not receiving or sharing information with other departments responsible for ensuring that companies followed the law. However, it is now able to mine several databases to detect inconsistencies that suggests a problem with workers’ compensation coverage. This is a huge leap from its previous state before 2012, when the agency failed to ensure that the state’s employers carried proper coverage. Data from that time indicated that as many as 30,000 employers in the state who were required to purchase workers’ compensation did not do so. The commission is now trying to correct that problem. Last year, the agency investigated nearly 2,000 cases involving potential lack of coverage, and those efforts brought 800 companies into compliance. In the same year, it ruled that 71 workers were injured while working for employers without proper workers’ compensation insurance.

Investigations Last Year

During the last 18 months, investigators for the commission apparently visited business in six North Carolina counties that were suspected to have no workers’ compensation insurance coverage. The agency targeted these companies because they had a prior claim involving an injured workers, which is an indicator that the company knew or should have known that it had a duty to carry such insurance. After those investigations, the agency issued 100 charges, all misdemeanors, against the company owners. The charges were dismissed by prosecutors if the employer bought insurance and came to court to prove it.

Additionally, North Carolina’s governor issued an executive order placing the Commission in charge of coordinating how various state agencies respond to information about businesses that might be cheating. He charged each agency to enforce its rules and issue appropriate sanctions.

If you believe you or a loved one has suffered a compensable work injury, the attorneys at Bice Law, LLC can help you navigate the complex process of filing a workers’ compensation claim. Contact us today for a free initial consultation.

Contact the Personal Injury Law Firm of Bice Law

The personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payments for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and any permanent disability.  We’ll determine whether an out-of-court settlement or trial is the best strategy to obtain maximum benefits for you or your family. If you have suffered injury or harm because of someone else’s actions, take the first step to protect your legal rights – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law serving both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, so act quickly.  Call (855) 500-BICE today or submit an online request  to get a free consultation with a  personal injury attorney. We serve families across both North Carolina and South Carolina.

 

 

 

 

<div class="a2a_kit a2a_kit_size_32 addtoany_list" data-a2a-url="http://www.bicelaw Check Out Your URL.us/uninsured-employers-fined-extensively-2015-north-carolina/” data-a2a-title=”Uninsured Employers Fined Extensively in 2015 in North Carolina”>Share
Share this article on Social Media!

Proposed Revamped Mandatory Training for Truck and Bus Drivers

Proposed Revamped Mandatory Training for Truck and Bus Drivers

Charlotte, NC Attorney

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) at the U.S. Department of Transportation proposed a new set of comprehensive training requirements for entry-level commercial truck and bus operators who are seeking a commercial driver’s license. These proposed standards were contained in a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking that purports to represent the recommendations of a committee consisting of FMCSA representatives and 25 stakeholders. It is currently posted, and the agency is collecting public comments.

These new training requirements are important towards helping prevent commercial truck accidents. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident with a commercial truck, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries. You should seek the help of an experienced personal injury attorney such as Justin Bice of the law firm of Bice Law, LLC.

Entry-Level Driver Training Requirements

The proposed rule would first require an individual to complete a mandatory driving practice training program prior to taking a commercial driver’s license (CDL) skills test. The training program must be provided by a trainer provider who appears on FMCSA’s training provider registry and is appropriate to the license for which the individual is applying. Required individuals would include those applying for an initial CDL, an upgrade of their CDL, a hazardous materials, passenger, or school bus endorsement for their license, or someone seeking reinstatement of their CDL.

Those exempted from these requirements would include military drivers, farmers, and firefighters. Additionally, restricted CDL applicants such as drivers from Alaska, farm-related service industries, and the pyrotechnic industry, would be exempted from these proposed requirements.

Required Training Hours

The proposed rule would require Class A CDL driver-trainees to receive a minimum of thirty hours of behind-the-wheel training. With a minimum of ten hours on a driving range. They would also be required to drive on a public road, which Class A CDL driver-trainees may fulfill by either driving for ten hours on a public road, or ten public road trips each no less than fifty minutes long.

As to Class B driver-trainees, they would be required to receive a minimum of fifteen hours of behind-the-wheel training. At a minimum, they would be required to log seven hours of public road driving.

Training providers, at a minimum, would have to offer and teach a training curriculum that meets all FMCSA standards for entry-level drivers and would have to also meet requirements related to: course administration, qualifications for instructional personnel, assessments, issuance of training certificates, and training vehicles. Training providers that meet these requirements would be eligible for listing with FMCSA and would have to continue to meet the eligibility requirements in order to stay listed with the agency. Also, training providers would have to attest that they meet the specified requirements, and in the event of an FMCSA audit or investigation of the provider, would have to supply documentary evidence to verify their compliance.

Commercial truck drivers will be held to higher standards if these proposed training requirements become required. They are aimed at reducing accidents involving commercial trucks, which occur with alarming frequency nationwide. If you are considering filing a suit for injuries suffered in a large truck accident in North or South Carolina, Bice Law, LLC can provide you with the expertise and effective advocacy you need to pursue your case and obtain compensation for your injuries. Contact us today for a free initial consultation by calling our toll-free number at (855) 500-BICE or by submitting our online form.

Contact the Personal Injury Law Firm of Bice Law

The personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payments for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and any permanent disability.  We’ll determine whether an out-of-court settlement or trial is the best strategy to obtain maximum benefits for you or your family. If you have suffered injury or harm because of someone else’s actions, take the first step to protect your legal rights – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law serving both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, so act quickly.  Call (855) 500-BICE today or submit an online request  to get a free consultation with a  personal injury attorney. We serve families across both North Carolina and South Carolina.

Share this article on Social Media!

Driving Drowsy: Liability for Falling Asleep at the Wheel

Driving Drowsy: Liability for Falling Asleep at the Wheel

Charlotte, NC Attorney

One very common cause of serious car accidents is when a driver falls asleep while driving. According to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), each year, more than 100,000 police-reported car accidents result from drivers who fall asleep. Of those accidents, more than 1,600 cause fatalities, and more than 72,000 cause serious injuries. The actual number is probably much higher since not everyone reports all drowsy-driving accidents. Similarly, a Farmers Insurance Company survey states that almost three times as many men (15.9% as women (5.8%) said they had fallen asleep at the wheel, and those ages 55 to 64 had the highest percentage of any age group surveyed (13.7%).

If you or a loved one has been injured in car accident potentially involving a driver who fell asleep at the wheel, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries. You should seek the help of an experienced personal injury attorney such as Justin Bice of the law firm of Bice Law, LLC.

Liability of Individuals Who Fall Asleep at the Wheel

All drivers have a legal duty of care to drive safely while and to help ensure the safety and well-being of others. Failing this legal duty of care results in liability for any corresponding accidents that occur. Establishing liability when a driver is speeding, driving recklessly, texting and driving, or driving while intoxicated are clear examples of failing this duty of care or negligence. However, when it comes to falling asleep while driving, proving negligence is a more complicated endeavor. Unless a driver admits to falling asleep at the wheel and causing the accident, plaintiffs will find it difficult to gather enough evidence to prove liability. This is usually a case built on circumstantial evidence.

Police reports are an important part of the potential case for liability. The police will interview all drivers and record statements, including any admissions of falling asleep at the wheel. Witnesses may also provide statements indicating whether they saw another driver nod off.

Additionally, in many cases the accident location together with the point of impact can provide proof of liability. If a driver who nodded off collided with a vehicle in another lane, that may support the conclusion that drowsiness caused him or her to drift into another lane. Additionally, the absence of skid marks may serve as evidence that the driver didn’t try to correct the trajectory of the vehicle. Without a legitimate excuse for a lane change accident, the burden passes to that driver to prove he or she did not fall asleep.

If there are any traffic videos, it may show that the driver’s turn signals were not on, which is additional circumstantial evidence he or she was asleep and did not give notice of the intent to move into another lane. If there is any proof that the driver was driving for long distances, such as an out-of-state driver’s license or luggage inside the vehicle, that may also serve as evidence of liability. Additional such evidence includes road maps, coolers, packages of no-doz or other stimulants, used coffee cups, pillows and blankets, food wrappers, etc.

Contacting an Experienced Accident Attorney

The assistance of experienced legal counsel will be crucial in proving liability for these kinds of accidents. These are fact-intensive cases that require extensive investigation, evidence-gathering, and analysis. If necessary, seasoned legal representation will be necessary in court, if a case goes to trial. If you are considering filing a suit for injuries suffered in an accident with drowsy drivers in North or South Carolina, Bice Law, LLC can provide you with the expertise and effective advocacy you need to pursue your case and obtain compensation for your injuries. Contact us today for a free initial consultation by calling our toll-free number at (855) 500-BICE or by submitting our online form.

 

Share this article on Social Media!

Hit and Run Car Accidents in South Carolina

Hit and Run Car Accidents in South Carolina

 Fort Mill, SC Attorney

When a person is involved in a vehicle accident and leaves the scene without providing assistance or the required identifying information, he or she may face both civil and criminal liability for a hit and run accident. Recently, in Aiken County, South Carolina, local news reported that a 15-year old teenager died from multiple trauma due to being hit by a vehicle. The driver of the SUV involved left the scene without rendering assistance. He was arrested shortly thereafter.

If you or a loved one has been injured in a hit and run accident, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries. You should seek the help of an experienced personal injury attorney such as Justin Bice of the law firm of Bice Law, LLC.

Duties to Provide Information and Render Aid

Relevant provisions of South Carolina statutes require that the driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting in damage to a vehicle or other property that is driven or attended to by another person stop and provide his or her name, address, registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving and, if requested and available, his or her license or permit to drive. If the property owner or operator is not present to receive the driver’s information, then the driver is required to leave a conspicuous written notice containing his or her name and address and a statement of the circumstances for the accident.

If the crash results in injury to another person, including a passenger, South Carolina statute requires that the driver stop immediately, provide his or her name, address, registration information, and driver’s license. Additionally, the driver must render reasonable aid to the injured person by transporting, or making arrangements for the transportation, of the person to a medical professional for medical or surgical treatment, if the need is apparent or the injured person requests assistance.

Personal Injury Suit for Hit and Run Accident

In addition to the potential criminal penalties, a civil personal injury suit is also possible in a hit and run accident against the responsible driver. This occurs separately from the criminal prosecution and is intended to provide hit and run victims with compensation for injuries, pain and suffering, medical bills, and lost wages. In addition to compensatory damages, victims of hit and run crashes are also more likely to be able to obtain punitive damages from the offending driver. Punitive damages are intended to punish the wrongdoer and deter similar conduct in the future, and in hit and run cases, showing the kind of conduct that deserves punitive damages is easier because of the affirmative failure to render assistance that is needed.

Hit and run accidents that result in injuries and damages can result in complicated court proceedings involving separate criminal and civil proceedings over the same accident. If you are considering filing a suit for injuries suffered in a hit and run accident in North or South Carolina, Bice Law, LLC can provide you with the expertise and effective advocacy you need to pursue your case and obtain compensation for your injuries. Contact us today for a free initial consultation by calling our toll-free number at (855) 500-BICE or by submitting our online form.

Contact the Personal Injury Law Firm of Bice Law

The personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payments for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and any permanent disability.  We’ll determine whether an out-of-court settlement or trial is the best strategy to obtain maximum benefits for you or your family. If you have suffered injury or harm because of someone else’s actions, take the first step to protect your legal rights – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law serving both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, so act quickly.  Call (855) 500-BICE today or submit an online request  to get a free consultation with a  personal injury attorney. We serve families across both North Carolina and South Carolina.

 

Share this article on Social Media!

When an Injury Incurred While Traveling to Work is Compensable

When an Injury Incurred While Traveling to Work is Compensable

Fort Mill, SC Attorney

Generally, if an employee suffers an injury or accident while traveling to or from work, that injury is considered outside the course and scope of his or her employment and, therefore, not compensable under South Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation scheme.  However, there are certain exceptions to this rule that will bring an injury within the scope of one’s employment. If you suffered an injury that you believe is work-related and want to file a claim for workers’ compensation in North or South Carolina, you should consult with a seasoned attorney such as Justin Bice of the law firm of Bice Law, LLC.

Death on the Way to Work

The South Carolina Court of Appeals recently considered the exceptions to the so-called “going to and coming from work rule” in the case of Wofford v. City of Spartanburg. The worker in this case was a superintendent of Parks and Recreation for the City of Spartanburg who died in a motorcycle accident while traveling from his mother’s home to one of the city’s recreation centers. Mr. Wofford’s widow and surviving child filed a claim for workers’ compensation benefits, and the City of Spartanburg denied the claim because the accident and injury occurred while the worker was traveling to work and, therefore, not compensable. The City found that none of the exceptions to this rule applied. Additionally, the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission found that even if Wofford was in the course and scope of his employment when the accident occurred, his initial trip to his mother’s house was a substantial deviation from his usual route to work, which brought him outside of the scope of his employment. The mother apparently testified that her home was in the opposite direction of Wofford’s workplace and that he was at her house for approximately three hours before he left telling her that he was on his way to work.

 

On appeal to the South Carolina Court of Appeals, the claimant argued, in a general way, that Wofford was on a “special task or errand” when he had his accident because he was going to retrieve something as requested by his supervisor. The Court of Appeals affirmed the Commission’s denial, stating that the task he was requested to perform were within Wofford’s typical job responsibilities.

Five Exceptions to the Travelling to and From Work Rule

As the court explained, workers who are injured traveling to and from work are generally outside the scope of activities that would be covered under South Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation statute. However, there are five exceptions to this rule:

  • The injured employee is in a company vehicle, or the time spent therein is considered compensable time;
  • The injured worker is assigned a work-related task during his or her travel to or from the workplace;
  • The injured worker was required to travel through an inherently dangerous way to the workplace, which is either the only way or the way that the employer built and maintained;
  • The worker was injured in close proximity to the workplace and the worker was required to use that way to go to and from the workplace;
  • The worker suffered an injury while performing a special task, service, mission or errand for his or her employer before or after usual working hours or on a day in which he or she usually does not work.

Determining whether an activity falls within one of these exceptions is a fact-intensive inquiry that requires extensive investigation and legal analysis. Bice Law, LLC can help you with the process of filing a claim for workers’ compensation in North or South Carolina. Contact us today for a free initial consultation by calling our toll-free number at (855) 500-BICE or by submitting our online form.

Contact the Personal Injury Law Firm of Bice Law

The personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payments for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and any permanent disability.  We’ll determine whether an out-of-court settlement or trial is the best strategy to obtain maximum benefits for you or your family. If you have suffered injury or harm because of someone else’s actions, take the first step to protect your legal rights – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law serving both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, so act quickly.  Call (855) 500-BICE today or submit an online request  to get a free consultation with a  personal injury attorney. We serve families across both North Carolina and South Carolina.

Share this article on Social Media!

Auto Recalls and Product Liability for Car Manufacturers

 

Auto Recalls and Product Liability for Car Manufacturers

Charlotte, NC Attorney

Most people ignore notices that they receive announcing a recall by an automobile maker due to a defect it discovered. These recalls have increased in frequency in the last few years. ABC News indicates that more vehicles were recalled in 2014 than in any other year before that, and a total of 550 recall notices were issued by carmakers for more than fifty million vehicles during that year. During the first eight months of 2015, carmakers conducted nearly 500 different campaigns to recall defective cars, which affected over 32.4 million vehicles. This is why car owners have to be vigilant in being on the lookout for recall notices, because the result of doing otherwise may be serious injuries or even death.

Takata Recall

One of the most significant of these recalls that occurred in 2015 involves the Takata airbags. Takata is a Japanese car parts manufacturer, which, in 2015, issued one of the largest recalls in history for making defective airbags. The company conducted a recall campaign for its airbags that affected approximately 34 million vehicles. The defect in the Takata airbags made them vulnerable to exploding upon impact, thereafter causing shrapnel to cause significant bodily injuries to drivers and passengers. Several individuals in the U.S. have died or sustained serious injuries because of these defective airbags. Multiple makes and models are affected, including cars manufactured by Toyota, Nissan, Ford, Chrysler, Honda, and others.

A South Carolina family has filed a wrongful death suit against Takata for the 2006 death of Joel Knight. Knight was driving home in his 2006 Ford Ranger when he struck a cow in the road, causing his air bag to be deployed. Autopsy reports indicated that a large metal shrapnel from the airbag struck him in the neck, severing his spinal cord and causing his death.

Products Liability

Car owners usually receive a recall notice in the mail if there is a defect in their automobiles. These notices provide instructions on what to do next, including where repairs may be made and how those repairs will be paid for. Recall information is also readily available from the National Transportation Safety Board’s SaferCar.gov site, which allows users to search for a vehicle’s VIN number to see if any recalls apply.

However, there are instances in which a vehicle defect is not discovered and no recall is issued. If this occurs, and people have no notice of the defect, then accidents may occur that could not have been foreseen. One of two things may occur: either the defect directly causes the vehicle crash, or the defect worsens injuries resulting from the crash. If a driver or passenger sustains injuries as a result, then he or she may be able to obtain compensation for those injuries from the vehicle or vehicle part manufacturer, the vehicle or vehicle part distributor, or the car dealer. You should seek the help of an experienced personal injury attorney, such as Justin Bice of the law firm of Bice Law, LLC in North or South Carolina, to help you navigate the complex process of filing suit and proving liability.

Bice Law, LLC can help you seek compensation for your injuries caused by defective products. Contact us today for a free initial consultation by calling our toll-free number at (855) 500-BICE or by submitting our online form. Consulting an attorney as early as possible in your case can make an impact as to achieving positive outcomes, so do not hesitate to contact us today.

Contact the Personal Injury Law Firm of Bice Law

The personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payments for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and any permanent disability.  We’ll determine whether an out-of-court settlement or trial is the best strategy to obtain maximum benefits for you or your family. If you have suffered injury or harm because of someone else’s actions, take the first step to protect your legal rights – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law serving both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, so act quickly.  Call (855) 500-BICE today or submit an online request  to get a free consultation with a  personal injury attorney. We serve families across both North Carolina and South Carolina.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this article on Social Media!

Aggressive Driving in North Carolina

Aggressive Driving in North Carolina

Charlotte, NC Attorney

Aggressive driving is often cited as the cause of many accidents on the road, and it includes a wide range of high-risk, reckless, and potentially dangerous driving behaviors. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) defines aggressive driving as something that occurs when a person commits a combination of moving traffic offenses so as to endanger other persons or property. There are various behaviors that, alone or together, are indicative of aggressive driving such as excessive and unnecessary honking, rude gestures, and yelling at other drivers, recklessly weaving in and out of lanes, cutting off other motorists, passing slow moving vehicles excessively, and running red lights or stop signs.

The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety found by analyzing NHTSA data that as much as 56% of all accidents that occurred between 2003 and 2007 involved some form of aggressive driving. Additionally, as much as two-thirds of all traffic deaths could be linked to aggressive driving. The AAA found through a national telephone survey found nearly eight out of every 10 people surveyed rated aggressive drivers as a serious or extremely serious traffic safety problem. If you have been injured in a car accident because of the aggressive or reckless driving of another in North or South Carolina, you should consult with a seasoned personal injury attorney such as Justin Bice of the law firm of Bice Law, LLC.

North Carolina Reckless Driving Law

North Carolina is one of 15 states that have enacted legislation aimed at curbing aggressive driving. 11 of these states have adopted definitions of aggressive or reckless, including North Carolina. Under this statute, reckless driving is speeding and driving carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others or driving without due caution and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property.

Aggressive Driving Instances in North Carolina

The North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) tracks data on contributing circumstances in car accidents across the state and publishes it in a report. This data provides a picture for the most common indicators of aggressive driving in North Carolina.

Speed was a factor in various circumstances, such as failure to reduce speed, exceeding safe speed for conditions, or exceeding the authorized speed limit. Speed was cited in 72,110 car accidents in North Carolina in 2014, including 428 fatal crashes and 40,816 injuries. The following are additional circumstances that may be counted as aggressive/reckless driving:

  • Failing to yield right of way or disregarding a yield sign was a contributing factor in 35,851 accidents that resulted in 135 fatal crashes and 13,712 injuries;
  • Following too closely was a factor in 5,101 accidents that resulted in one fatal crash and 1,559 injuries; and
  • Disregarding a stop sign was a factor in 3,337 accidents that resulted in 29 fatal crashes and 1,638 injuries.

Bice Law, LLC can help you seek compensation for your injuries caused by a car accident with an aggressive driver. Contact us today for a free initial consultation by calling our toll-free number at (855) 500-BICE or by submitting our online form. Consulting an attorney as early as possible may make an impact in the successful resolution of your case, so do not hesitate to contact us today.

Contact the Personal Injury Law Firm of Bice Law

The personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payments for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and any permanent disability.  We’ll determine whether an out-of-court settlement or trial is the best strategy to obtain maximum benefits for you or your family. If you have suffered injury or harm because of someone else’s actions, take the first step to protect your legal rights – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law serving both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, so act quickly.  Call (855) 500-BICE today or submit an online request  to get a free consultation with a  personal injury attorney. We serve families across both North Carolina and South Carolina.

 

Share this article on Social Media!

Wrongful Death Suit Filed in Scaffolding Collapse

Wrongful Death Suit Filed in Scaffolding Collapse

Charlotte, NC Attorney

Last January, the families of three workers killed in a North Carolina scaffolding accident that occurred in March 2015 filed a wrongful death suit against four companies that were either involved in the project or supplied the scaffolding that failed in the accident. The three deceased workers men worked for a subcontractor that was helping to erect a $54 million office building adjacent to the Raleigh Convention Center and the Duke Energy Performing Arts Center. The families are unable to sue the subcontractor because, under North Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation statute, employers who provide for workers’ compensation coverage are insulated from lawsuits if they have not committed any intentional wrongdoing against their employees.

Alleged Negligence and Wrongful Death

Section 28A-18-2 of North Carolina Statutes defines wrongful death as death “caused by a wrongful act, neglect, or default of another.” The statute states that a wrongful death claim is appropriate if, had the injured person lived, he or she would have been entitled to damages for their personal injuries. A wrongful death suit is similar to a personal injury suit but the injured person is no longer alive to seek civil remedies in court.

According to the wrongful death suit in this case, the general contractor on the worksite acted negligently in forcing the subcontractor to dismantle the scaffold quickly, so sections of it were being loaded onto the platform where the workers were standing. That platform had a maximum weight limit of 2,500 pounds. However, with the scaffolding equipment present on the platform, it was bearing 4,200 pounds at the time of the accident. Additionally, the scaffolding mast climber that goes up and down the side of a building to take workers to different floors was not properly anchored to the building. The lawsuit alleges that these two factors together caused the scaffolding to fall.

The plaintiffs also allege that the companies who provided the scaffolding equipment failed to provide proper training on how to install the equipment and how to operate the mast climber. The attorney representing the families stated that if the simple protocols involved in building, inspecting and operating the scaffold equipment were followed, this horrific construction accident would have been prevented.

Occupational Safety and Health Citations

Last September, three of the companies involved in the incident were fined for violating established safety standards. The North Carolina Occupational Safety and Health Division conducted an investigation and found that the scaffolding company committed three willful violations and one serious violation by loading more weight than the structure was designed to hold and did not have a trained person on-site to oversee operations and ensure that procedures were followed so a scaffolding collapse would be prevented. North Carolina OSH Division fined the company $152,000. Two other companies were apparently each fined $4,200 for other serious violations of the safety standards.

Bice Law, LLC, can help you seek compensation by filing a wrongful death suit on your behalf if your loved one died because of another person or company’s negligence in North or South Carolina. Contact us today for a free initial consultation by calling our toll-free number at (855) 500-BICE or by submitting our online form. Consulting an attorney as early as possible in your case can make difference, so do not hesitate to contact us today.

Contact the Personal Injury Law Firm of Bice Law

The personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payments for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and any permanent disability.  We’ll determine whether an out-of-court settlement or trial is the best strategy to obtain maximum benefits for you or your family. If you have suffered injury or harm because of someone else’s actions, take the first step to protect your legal rights – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law serving both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, so act quickly.  Call (855) 500-BICE today or submit an online request  to get a free consultation with a  personal injury attorney. We serve families across both North Carolina and South Carolina.

 

Share this article on Social Media!