Watercraft Injury Lawyer Serving North and South Carolina
North and South Carolina have welcomed boaters for years – and whether you enjoy boating as a leisure activity or rely on the water to make your living, the waterways of our state are popular and plentiful. However, when a boating accident occurs, very serious injuries can result. If you or a loved one has been hurt on the water, negligence may be to blame and you may be eligible to file a claim for damages – contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law today by calling (855) 5-BICE-LAW or submit an online request to get a free consultation with a boating accident attorney.
North Carolina law requires that any person under the age of 26 must successfully complete a NASBLA approved boating education course before operating any vessel propelled by a motor of 10 HP or greater.
Boating accidents that occur on public waters must be reported to the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission (24-hour toll free at 800-662-7137) when any one of the following occur:
-Loss of life, an injury requiring medical treatment or a person is unconscious or left disabled for 24 hours
-Actual physical damage to property (including vessels) is in excess of $2,000
-A person disappears from the vessel under circumstances that indicate death or injury.
In South Carolina, boat operators under age 16 must complete a boating course approved by the SCDNR to operate a boat or personal watercraft with a 15 h.p. motor or greater, unless accompanied by an adult age eighteen years or older.
The operator of every vessel involved in a boating accident shall report to the SCDNR whenever the accident results in loss of life, loss of consciousness, medical treatment or disability in excess of 24 hours, or property damage.
Commercial boats have additional laws regulating their responsibilities to crew members and passengers. Collectively, these regulations are known as Maritime Law, which can cover the crew on a vessel as well as longshoremen, offshore oil field workers, and others who may become injured on a boat, rig or dock. Maritime Law includes:
- Jones Act – this law allows seamen who have been injured by the negligence of their employers or co-workers to bring a claim against their employers for lost wages, medical bills, and pain and suffering.
- Unseaworthiness Claims – this type of claim applies to injuries caused by a boat or boat part that isn’t considered safe enough for its intended operation – or to injuries caused by crew members that aren’t skilled enough to perform their jobs safely and competently.
- Death on the High Seas (DOHSA) – this federal law allows surviving spouses of seamen to recover damages for their spouse’s future earnings.
- Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act (LHWCA) – this law provides protection to non-seamen who are injured on navigable water.
Contact the Boating Accident Law Firm of Bice Law
If you have been injured while on the water or working in a capacity covered by Maritime Law, the personal injury firm of Bice Law will examine your case to determine the type and amount of damages that your injury warrants, including payment for medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering and any permanent disability. We serve families across both North and South Carolina. You only have a limited time after your injury to file a claim, however, so you must act quickly. Contact the personal injury firm of Bice Law today by calling (855) 5-BICE-LAW or submit an online request to get a free consultation with a boating accident attorney. Results are how we measure success – we’ve built a strong reputation both in and out of the courtroom, and we’ll put our experience and expertise to work on your behalf.